Sam Smith Announces New Album, ‘The Thrill of it All’


Sam Smith
via Hames Barber for RollingStone

Our fave London Boy, Sam Smith, has finally announced a title, track list, album cover, and tour dates to his highly anticipated sophomore album today, (Oct. 6). The Thrill of it All is set to drop November 3 and we cannot freaking wait.

Sam has been primarily off the grid since his 2014 debut album, In The Lonely Hour. The album was one of the biggest records of the decade, selling 12.5 million copies and racking up four Grammys. Sam was dubbed the “male Adele” due to his melancholy relationship themes and big vocals. He also toured for two years off the album, but finally hit a “creatively paralyzed” phase after tour ended. “For the first two months, I really struggled,” he told RollingStone.

But, any signs of this stage seem to be long gone. Besides announcing The Thrill of it All today, Sam has also dropped another single, produced by Timbaland, “Pray” that followed “Too Good at Goodbyes” from a few weeks back. You can listen to both tracks on our Culture Mag Weekly Playlist.

What To Expect

The album is set to cover more “older, uncomfortable” topics this time around. Branching outside of the breakup songs from In The Lonely HourThe Thrill will dive into topics of religion, self-doubt and his sexuality among other things. He told RollingStone:

 “In the Lonely Hour is a gin and tonic with your friends. The new album is a whiskey by yourself in a dark room, at night, thinking about life. I went into a deep place. I don’t think I’m going to go into that place ever again, because it got a bit too deep.”

Sam is set to hit the road next summer for a North American arena tour. The tour kicks off June 18th at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto. Tickets go on sale to the general public NEXT WEEK, Oct. 12 with each ticket purchased including a copy of the album. A fan pre-sale will be held Oct. 11 at 10 AM (local time) here.

You can pre-order The Thrill Of It All here and receive both singles as instant downloads.

The Thrill of it All track list:

“Too Good at Goodbyes”

“Say it First”

“One Last Song”

“Midnight Train”



“Baby, You Make Me Crazy”

“No Peace” (feat. YEBBA)



U.S. deluxe edition bonus tracks:

“Nothing Left for You”

“The Thrill of it All”


“One Day at a Time”